End of the Year Awards – Stanislas and Mueller Named Captains

The 7th season of Rice Prep Hockey came to an official end on Saturday, as the team celebrated it’s graduating Seniors as well as a few individuals at the End of the Year Awards Luncheon.  “This is definitely going down as one of my favorite groups in my last 4 years,” stated Coach Dennis Vickers.  Vickers continued, “The way this group epitomized what it meant to be a Rice Prep hockey player was tremendous.  Starting with our Captains (Riley Smith & Cooper Norton), and filtering all the way down, was just a great group top to bottom of Seniors.”  Looking forward to next season, while there are some big holes to fill, the Knights feel comfortable going forward with the groundwork this group has laid.

Leading next year’s group will be Logan Stanislas (St. Albans, VT) and Scott Mueller (Nashville, TN).  “I think these 2 guys have what it takes to keep us moving forward,” stated Vickers.  “They are 2 different types of personalities, Scott more reserved and lead by example, and Logan, a fiery competitor, that likes to get the boys ready.  Understanding they have big shoes to fill, I believe they are up to the challenge!”

They said it…

“The last 4 years have truly made me a better student, hockey player, and person.  I can’t thank Rice and the Prep hockey program enough!  I have made friends, and memories to last a lifetime.” – Cooper Norton

“This year was unmatched to any other of my 3 seasons at Rice.  The way we worked, and worked for each other was unbelievable to be a part of.  Our cohesiveness really lead to all of our success and we earned everything on the ice!” – Riley Smith

“The past 2 years have been amazing, both on and off the ice!  I have learned so much about myself as a person and as a hockey player at Rice.” – Konsta Jaakola

“I’m very excited to represent the team as a Captain next season.  The amount of trust that my teammates and coaches have put in myself and Scott have given me tons of confidence heading in to next season, and I couldn’t be more excited for Sept.” – Logan Stanislas

“I’m honored to wear the ‘C’ next season with Logan, and cant wait for the season to start next year!” – Scott Mueller

Awards Recap:



Rice Memorial Senior Awards:

Konsta Jaakola – Outstanding Performance in Prep Hockey

Cooper Norton – Kristen Charlebois Humanitarian Award – Matthew W. Geiger Commitment to Service Award – Outstanding Performance in Lacrosse – Outstanding Male Athlete




Rice Memorial Prep Hockey Awards:IMG_3131

Arnie & Beth Spanier – Jeremiah Tarrant Service to Rice Prep Hockey Award

Timur Nigmatullin – Linda M. Barnes Most Improved Player Award

Scott Mueller – Damian DiGiulian Rookie of the Year Award

Colby Audette – Jeff Hill 7th Man Award

Jan Silvala – Mari Goodridge-Miller Sportsmanship Award

Cooper Norton – Gilligan-Lovelette Coaches Award

Konsta Jaakola – MPHL All-Star – Monsignor Bernard W. Bourgeois Most Valuable Player Award

Logan Stanislas and Scott Mueller – 2016-2017 Team Captains w/Cooper Norton, Riley Smith and Coach Vickers.